I’m Going Back to College

I’m going back to college. I signed up for a creative writing class called “Blueprinting Your Novel”. Of course, I have read a pile of books about writing. I’ve read and studied so many I think I could teach a class on how to write a book, or better, how to tell a story.
Why am I doing this? I’m looking forward to a time of learning and exchanging ideas with people like me. We are so rare; people actually writing books and not just talking or wishing. Also, and I know this may sound silly to a lot of people, I’m looking to gain some credentials, something to add to my resume and not just, “I’ve blogged a lot,” or “I wrote a short story for a college class once,” or “I’ve written about 2 million words and backspaced a million times,” or “I’ve read Larry Brooks’ book Story Engineering.”
It is my hope to get several of these under my belt. I hope, at some point, to be able to take one of David Farland‘s courses. I just missed one here locally. And, I’m a reader of his Daily Kick in the Pants, something I recommend for all writers.
EDIT: The class was canceled. Now I have no class.
  1. June 15, 2013 at 3:28 am

    Hi there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal every day. I’d
    like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new
    aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

