Home > Books, Creative Writing, My Book, On Writing > The Grindstone

The Grindstone

I’ve barely scratched the surface refining this final draft of Blood & Soul. Although I think this story is solid and I’m enthusiastic, refining it to perfection is going to be epic in itself. It is incredibly tedious and time consuming.grindstone

Imagine approving 32,754 punctuation changes in a 158K word document – things like changing from one style of quote (“) to another or approving the deletion of a space or the insertion of one. 705 pages of New Courier font and 750 comments in the side panel, half of them related to format changes from standard to italics. The other half of comments noting inconsistencies or suggestions on info in a paragraph of narration. My editor also caught sentences sprinkled throughout the epic draft left over from the previous versions. I suspected it would be there. It will require a lot “rewiring” so to speak to get everything just right.

As I go through this I sometimes wish I was as nerdy (and I mean that in a good way) or exacting as my editor. It boggles my mind to think he enjoys this. It’s like he is responsible for the training of an athlete. I have the muse and he’s got the mallet that knocks me back to my senses.

Back to the grindstone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

