Home > Uncategorized > Self-Publishing, Editing and Concern

Self-Publishing, Editing and Concern

After swearing to never self-publish I changed my mind a couple of years ago. But one thing I will never swear off is a valuable editor. One of the chief complaints I see about self-published authors is horrendous editing – if it’s been truly edited at all. Three weeks ago I received my manuscript back from my editor. I’m astounded by the improvements an objective eye brings to my story even after I had revised my work seven times. As hard as I tried I still needed help. I won’t compromise on quality when it comes to something I’ve slaved over to try to make it great. I don’t understand why more self-published writers don’t invest in an editor. If you truly cherish your story why would not want to craft it as near perfection as possible?

My book is going to be self-published. But I confess I’ve never been able to make it through a self-published book. Granted, there are probably some great ones out there. I’m concerned there’s a lot of people out there like me who won’t give a self-published author a chance. I wrote my book for a lot of reasons; one was for picky readers like me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

