Home > Art, Books, Creative Writing, Movies, My Book, On Writing > What’s it About?

What’s it About?

In updating about my book, I’ve never posted much about the story itself. I will tell you girls out there it has love and longing and

Style: "Wizards"

romance. Don’t think for one second that us guys don’t like that stuff, it just has to be done right, without the sap. I would not call it a family adventure. The story deals with some pretty brutal stuff. Would it be a date movie? Oh yeah! There is stuff in it for guys and girls. There is a lead male and a strong female character.

MV5BMTIwODk0NzQzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTEzOTc0MQ@@._V1_SX214_The only thing that comes close to the feel of it, and still way off, is a mix of Gladiator, Memoirs of a Geisha and Lord of the Rings. The look of it is late BC or early middle Ages with a Romanesque setting. I love historical fiction before gun-powder and it’s had a great influence on me. So the style of fantasy is what readers would call realism or hard-fantasy because it’s a logically consistent world that I made up as in A Game of Thrones or Wizards First Rule or Lord of the Rings.

It’s not an airy fairy silly romp with leprechauns and smurfs – a pox be upon them! It feels realistic and there is only a touch of fantasy but even that is linked to spiritualism and not potions brewed by witches. Gods and Goddesses are worshiped and there is human sacrifice, diverse peoples and religions populate the story along with some exotic beasts both good and evil. The main characters are searching to discover their purpose in life…and that’s as far as I will go for now.

The theme is embedded in the title, BLOOD & SOUL. The theme was inspired by one of my deeply held beliefs. But I handle the

Creed of Kings Saga BannerBandSsmall

theme with a light touch. It’s not preachy at all. I strove to give the reader poignant emotional moments along with thrills, tension and suspense. Anyway …I need to get busy as I’m working on the final draft.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

What do you think?

